Skip to main content
News 22 October 2019 Updated 3 November 2020

Successful Switched on Towns and Cities announced

Today, 11 Scottish local authorities were announced as participants in round two of the Switched on Towns and Cities feasibility study programme, which will run across 2019/2020. Funded by Transport Scotland and delivered by Energy Saving Trust, the programme supports the Scottish Government’s ambitions to create 20 electric towns and cities by 2025.

Now in its second year, the objective of this collaborative programme is to explore a range of solutions that will enable the local authorities to develop strategies to help with the transition to a low carbon economy.

Each local study will provide a report that includes detailed insights and information on a range of topics. These will include plug-in vehicle forecasts and recommendations for publicly accessible charge points, designed for varied user groups.

Additionally, the studies will highlight complementary measures for incentivising and enabling people to participate in low carbon transport options.

Switched on Towns and Cities 2019/20

The following local authorities have secured feasibility study support:

  • Shetland
  • Orkney
  • Moray
  • Highland
  • Stirling
  • West Lothian
  • North Lanarkshire
  • Renfrewshire
  • East Renfrewshire
  • South Lanarkshire
  • Dumfries & Galloway

Ellie Grebenik, senior programme manager, Scottish Transport at Energy Saving Trust said: “We are pleased once again to be working closely with local authorities from across Scotland. It is heartening to see the range of applicants include island, rural and urban communities, each facing different challenges. We hope that the programme will help these local authorities develop bespoke plans with innovative solutions”.

Cabinet Secretary for Transport, Infrastructure and Connectivity Michael Matheson said: “This is an important step in our ambitious Switched on Towns and Cities Challenge Fund. The feasibility studies will inform and help facilitate intensified actions to increase the uptake of plug-in electric vehicles in Scotland’s towns and cities.

“In partnership with Energy Saving Trust, the fund is an important part of our overall package of support for local authorities, business and individuals to make the switch – and it directly supports our objective of phasing out the need for new petrol or diesel cars and vans by 2032.”

Further information on Switched on Towns and Cities.


For further information, contact Sophie Fraser, marketing and communications manager – transport or call 0131 555 9153.

Notes to editors:

Switched on Towns and Cities 2018/19

The following local authorities secured feasibility study support last year:

  • Angus
  • Scottish Borders
  • East Dumbartonshire
  • East Lothian
  • Western Isles (Eilean Siar)
  • Falkirk
  • Fife
  • North Ayrshire
  • Perth
  • South Ayrshire

Energy Saving Trust

Energy Saving Trust is an independent organisation dedicated to promoting energy efficiency and sustainable energy use, to help mitigate climate change and deliver the wider benefits of clean energy. We empower householders to make better energy choices, deliver transformative energy programmes for governments and support businesses with strategy, research and assurance – to move towards a sustainable future.

Last updated: 3 November 2020